The Bitch is Back!

I rode my horse today. And for a little while, I forgot about GMO, political criminals, the pending police state, and the rising price of oil and food.

My horse and I have a bond. We are entwined when we go down the trail, and become as one going up mountains, over obstacles, and through trees. When I ride, my horse and I are temporarily in another world that doesn’t include anything but what is around the next bend in the trail.

While taking care of my elderly mom, I got lazy and didn’t ride. I sat around with her watching the tube and getting fat. When I did climb on my horse, my saddle didn’t fit and my balance was off. My horse really felt the added weight and was a bit sluggish. Well, Ma is gone now, and I have lost the weight. I had forgotten just how much my little trail excursions helped my mental state.

Today, it all came back. My horse and I took off from the ranch and climbed to the top of the mountain just to the south of my property. We had prepared for this by me lounging her for several minutes a few times per week. You see, my horse is an Arabian endurance horse. Arabians are a unique breed. Once they gain the musculature and stamina for endurance, it doesn’t take very much to get it back. When we came to Oregon, she was in tip-top shape, able to leap tall mountains in a single bound. Well, practically. I was too. Ten years took their toll, and both my horse and I got fat. Since then, we both went on a diet and exercise regime, and now we can see the light at the end of the tunnel. We are “one” once again. As a result, my balance is back, my focus is clearer, and my stress level is down.

I thank the Almighty for this outlet. I believe everyone needs something to lift him/her out of the cold hard reality of the present world situation into another place that suspends the here and now, and propels him/her into the “what can be” realm. Without some form of outlet, there is a good possibility that one can go mad. At least that is how I feel. I didn’t realize just how much I need my outlet until I regained it after a long period of abstinence. And now I can proudly proclaim, the Bitch is back! Thank you, Lord.

Barb

 

 

